Exercise as a treatment for depression and the truth about sugar

Welcome to the MHD newsletter. A 3 minute weekly read where you will be encouraged to get reflective with a journal prompt, have relevant reading suggestions with a new book each month for our read-along book club. Hear about nutrition in the news and what we have going on over in team MHD

Weekly check in:

A few weeks ago I went to see the new Disney Film Inside Out 2 (Pixar’s highest grossing film of all time now) and I still can’t stop talking about it. I loved it and absolutely would recommend it. A part that particularly resonated with me was about the formation of beliefs, and how our beliefs form our sense of self. This is something I talk about a lot in my work as an eating disorder dietitian. Limiting or irrational beliefs are considered to be a driving factor in eating disorders. 

“In the psychology of self, one's self-concept is a collection of beliefs about oneself. Generally, self-concept embodies the answer to the question "Who am I?". Wikipedia 

I thought I would tie today’s journal prompt into this topic of ’Sense of Self’ 

Journal prompt:

Do you think that you have limiting beliefs about yourself, that may be holding you back?

Have a minute to reflect on this. Perhaps consider if you may be open to reconsidering any of the beliefs you hold about yourself.

Nutrition in the news: 


Earlier this year a meta-analysis on the effect of exercise on depression was published in the BMJ. This is not strictly nutrition but I think it is an important study to be aware of.

It found that exercise was a powerful treatment, more effective than medication on its own. I always advocate for a balanced and joyful approach to exercise.

Many people in my community struggle with exercise addiction and a disordered relationship with exercise. So if you are already exceeding government movement guidance (150 minutes of mild to moderate intensity), doing more will not benefit your mental health. In fact for those with compulsive exercise, reducing exercise is an important part of treatment to support mental and physical wellbeing.

I was interested to read the dance studies they included, which indicated that dance was particularly potent, although the studies were poor quality. As someone who finds joy and embodiment in dance, I find it to be such a mental health enhancing hobby.

Podcast recommendation: 

“Until you address the inequalities that impact food choice, we are in no position to dictate food choice”

This podcast comes in two parts and I suggest listening to both.

Dr Throsby is a sociology professor. She researched the discussion of sugar in the media, and then wrote her book Sugar Rush. (Immediately on my to read list, future book club contender for sure.)

Dr Throsby describes the discourse around sugar being a part of the war on obesity, with the initial phase being the war on fat, and the current phase: the discourse around ‘ultraprocessed foods’. If you follow me online you will know that this is a topic I talk a lot about. I am concerned about the media coverage of UPF and how blanket avoidance of these foods is not a helpful or evidence based health intervention. (I will talk more about this on the newsletter soon). I found the point about the political intention of the demonisation of certain foods to be particularly thought provoking.

Book of the month

July’s Book of the month, as chosen by your votes:

Hillary McBride explores the broken and unhealthy ideas we have inherited about our body.

If you haven’t ordered this/ found it in your local library then here is your reminder to join our read-along. I am already loving the start of this.

That’s all from us this week, back again same time next week.

Look after yourself <3

Sophie and the team at Mental Health Dietitians.